You are here

A Pup Called Trouble (Hardcover)

A Pup Called Trouble Cover Image
$16.99
On Our Shelves Now
On hand as of Aug 21 4:30am
(MIDDLE READER HARDCOVER)

Description


Fans of classic animal stories like Pax and A Dog’s Way Home will howl over the heartwarming adventures of a coyote pup lost in New York City.

Brimming with curiosity, Trouble can’t wait to explore the world beyond Singing Creek. So one morning the coyote pup stows away in the back of a truck and ends up lost in the heart of New York City. While Trouble misses his siblings, he quickly makes friends in Central Park’s Ramble: a prankster crow, a timid opossum, and a poetic poodle.

Before long, he goes from howling for home to wondering if he could make a life in the city forever. But when word gets out that a coyote is running wild on city streets, Trouble must choose between the risks of being caught and the dangers of a long journey home.

Inspired by true stories, this accessible read from the award-winning author of A Dog’s Way Home will resonate with anyone who’s ever felt torn between the longing for adventure and the call of home. An appendix with real accounts of wild animals trapped in the city adds to the fun!

About the Author


Bobbie Pyron calls A Dog's Way Home "My own personal love letter to all the great, classic dog books I've read and loved—and to all the dogs I've loved, too." As a part-time youth librarian, Bobbie enjoys sharing dog stories, and books of all kinds, with young readers. When she's not writing, working as a librarian, or volunteering with animal rescue organizations, Bobbie and her dogs Boo, Teddy, and Sherlock can often be found walking in the woods of Park City, Utah, where she lives with her husband, Todd.

Praise For…


★ “An enthralling adventure with emotional heft and read-aloud potential. Fans of Kate DiCamillo, Phyllis Naylor, and E. B. White will treasure Pyron’s book.”
— Booklist (starred review)

“A fast-paced, immersive exploration of urban wildlife from a satisfying animal point of view.”
— Kirkus Reviews

“Based on real-life instances of coyotes inhabiting Central Park, Pyron’s tale deftly navigates the animal adventure genre with a lively voice. Readers will be captivated.”
— School Library Journal

“A sweet tale about something we all yearn for, whether we’re four-footed or two-footed: friendship and a place to call home.”
— bestselling author Suzanne Selfors
Product Details
ISBN: 9780062685223
ISBN-10: 0062685228
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Publication Date: February 13th, 2018
Pages: 208
Language: English